Celebs Hit The 2012 ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Music Awards

Posted by | Posted in Gurl Talk | Posted on 30-06-2012


Music icons Pharrell Williams and Quincy Jones were given special honors by their peers last night at ASCAP’s 25th Annual Rhythm & Soul Music Awards in LA.  Get the deets inside and see pics of Tyrese, Marsha Ambrosius and Miguel.

In Los Angeles yesterday, The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) hosted its 25th Annual Rhythm & Soul Music Awards  at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.  The evening paid special tribute to Quincy Jones and Pharrell Williams (shown above with Chad Hugo), and honored the songwriters and publishers of the most performed ASCAP songs on the 2011 R&B/Hip-Hop, Rap and Gospel charts.

Pioneering super-producer, songwriter and rapper Pharrell Williams was presented with ASCAP’s Golden Note Award, which is given to songwriters, composers and artists who have achieved extraordinary career milestones. He said,

“It is an honor to receive The Golden Note Award. ASCAP has celebrated some of the greatest musicians of our time with this distinction, and I am humbled to be in their ranks.  The work ASCAP has done – and continues to do – to protect and serve music creators is truly remarkable and it is a thrill to be recognized by such a respected institution.”

One of the evening’s highlights was a special tribute to legendary music creator Quincy Jones, who was honored with ASCAP’s Founders Award in recognition of his achievements as a producer, composer, entrepreneur and icon. Babyface presented the award as musical director Michael Beardon led a tribute performance featuring Marsha Ambrosius and Tyrese.

The Songwriter of the Year award was presented to Canadian producer Noah "40" Shebib, who penned four of the most performed songs of the past year. 40 was honored for “Fall for Your Type” (by Jamie Foxx featuring Drake), “Headlines” (by Drake), “I’m On One” (by DJ Khaled featuring Drake, Rick Ross and Lil Wayne) and “Marvin’s Room” (by Drake).

 "Look At Me Now" by Chris Brown featuring Lil Wayne and Busta Rhymes earned writers Jean-Baptiste Kouame II and Wesley Pentz the Top Rap Song award and Kirk Franklin’s "I Smile" written by James “Jimmy Jam” Harris and Terry Steven Lewis was named Top Gospel Song.


Also spotted during the evening……. 


Jennia Fredrique rocked a purple bandage dress.

Notorius actress Antonique Smith showed off her legs.


Miguel’s "Sure Thing" written by Happy Perez and Miguel was named Top R&B/Hip-Hop Song.

Marsha Ambrosius and Tyrese paid tribute to Mr. Jones.

Erica Campbell of Mary Mary was there.

Melody Thornton rocked a summer peach gown.

Elle Varner wore a leather dress.  Wasn’t that a little hot for LA?

Legendary indie-artist Goapele looked stunningly bronzed.

Sparkle Jordin Sparks looked gorgeous in a little black dress.

The "other" Vanessa Williams also appeared sun-kissed and glowing in her gown.

"Let’s Make A Deal" host Wayne Brady attended.

Former ASCAP Songwriter of the Year, Kandi Burruss, was there too.

Photos via FayesVision/WENN/ Aaron J. / RedCarpetImages.net

Popularity: 1% [?]

Post a comment

Get Adobe Flash playerPlugin by wpburn.com wordpress themes
SEO Powered by Platinum SEO from Techblissonline